Teaching Awards at NUS

Express a commitment to an institutional value system that sends signals about what it regards as high quality teaching

Types of Awards

Outstanding Educator Award (OEA)

The Outstanding Educator Award (OEA) is given out annually to honour faculty members who have shown outstanding and sustained performance, dedication and commitment to teaching. The OEA carries a cash award and a teaching grant which enables the award recipient to engage in activities that will support and enhance his role as an educator and also contribute to teaching/learning at NUS. These activities can entail:

  • developing courseware/new instructional materials
  • engaging in classroom/action research
  • taking education courses
  • attending education conferences
  • undertaking an attachment to an overseas teaching/learning centre that is strong in a particular pedagogical subject or issue of interest, e.g. distance delivery, PBL, etc.


Annual Teaching Excellence Award (ATEA)

The Annual Teaching Excellence Award (ATEA) recognises faculty members who have displayed a high level of commitment to their teaching and carries a cash award.


ATEA Honour Roll

Faculty members who have received the ATEA three times will be placed on the Honour Roll to recognise their sustained excellent performance in teaching. They will also receive a cash award.


Career Achievement Award for Pedagogical Excellence (CAPE)

The Career Achievement Award for Pedagogical Excellence (CAPE) honours faculty members for exceptional achievements in educational leadership, pedagogical research and scholarship of teaching and learning (SoTL) at a regional or global level. CAPE comes with a cash award and an education research grant or a sabbatical in an education related Foundation/Institute/Centre.